The diary of a wannabe

I work a full time job and I’m really busy at the moment which means that I’m usually shattered by the time I get home. This makes it difficult to find the motivation to progress my new career venture when I get home.

I’m sure that you’re with me on this one. Life is so busy nowadays and it’s just myself and the Smelly Boy; I genuinely don’t know how people with children manage. I doff my cap!

The last month has been motivated. I’ve felt inspired to make a big push to get my presenting self out in the great wide world. In fact I’ve even been waking up early on weekends with ideas whizzing around my head, something rarely heard of I can tell you.

On your bike

Cycle for Cynthia is a fundraiser for the Cynthia Spencer Hospice in Northampton. You can do 5, 25 or 50 miles. I’ve gone for the middle ground of 25, I’ll let you know how I get on!

Girl on film

I’m organising a photo shoot with the brilliant Frasershot Studios for October time. This is a ray of sunshine in my life at the moment.

After a lull of not having the energy, I’ve had an energy boost. I’m even waking up early at weekends with ideas of what to blog, media to contact, new approaches to showreel. The aim of the photo shoot is to upgrade the pictures in my professional portfolio.

I must advise you dear reader, I’m loving it. At the moment ‘it’ doesn’t consist of much, lots of ideas and planning but I’m moving in the right direction. I’m doing something that contributes to a time when I get up of a morning looking forward to work.

It’s all rather exciting. I’m researching make-up artists, hair dressers, clothes, locations that’ll suit me and best portray my personality. I’m looking into make-up artists. It sounds rather glam to me!

I think that I need a mission name. Constantly saying “getting myself out there” sounds dull, I need something to jazz it up, any suggestions in the comments box?

Oh when the Saints…

I recently contacted the Northampton Saints. They’re a very successful rugby union team (not sucking up, I’m a massive fan) and I’ve been lucky enough to interview the director of rugby, Jim Mallinder, and some of the players.

I have a contact within the Saintd who I emailed to see if they needed a presenter for their YouTube channel. I hadn’t heard anything back after a few weeks so I decided to stop procrastinating and call the guy. I’d been dreading the call, my sense of self preservation telling me that he’d already ignored a ‘cold call’ email so probably wouldn’t appreciate the actual call.

It didn’t go badly. He answered the phone for one, and then stayed on the line when I explained who I was. Good sign. It was a no on the presenting front but when I asked if I could shadow the media team on a match day, I was happily told that it wouldn’t be a problem. I’m going to head down next week for a televised match (Saints vs Wasps) and see what the craic is.

So when I say that it didn’t go badly, what I mean to say is that I yelped when I got off the phone and I’m incredibly looking forward to the opportunity of learning how an organisation of the Saints’ stature engages with the media. It’s important to me anyway and I’m hoping to pick up some tips!

Ah haaaaa!

I had a training session with Radio Nene Valley the other day. I’ve now got some external recording equipment on loan as I’ll be producing and editing my own interview. I’ve interviewed local artists in the studio previously but I’ll have a finished product at the end of the process. A product that I’ll be able to use to show off how great I am. Or at least I can show that I’m not lying when I say that I work for the station!

I’ve also got plans to book some training to complete over the autumn/winter. My thinking being that a double pronged approach is best; get experience presenting and learn the theory behind it too.

Like me, please!

You know from my post What the Blog? that I’ve trying to get traffic to my Facebook and Twitter along with this blog. It was successful in that I went over the 100 like mark on Facebook (thank you very much to those you who took part and have had a look) and I have 99 twitter followers- wahoo!

I kept my promise and donated to charity on your benefit and will continue to do so for every 100 likes, follows and subscriptions I receive. You have the chance to have your say too. Like and/or follow me and use the “comment” box below to tell me which charities you would like to receive a donation.

Happy September

Well you now know what I’m up to over the next couple of weeks. I’m expecting a prosperous second half of the month and I hope that the same for you! What have you got going on at the moment?

Kerry

About Kerry Leese

20 something who loves to travel from Northampton embarking on a journey of self discovery. Ambitiously working towards a career in broadcasting. In love with her Smelly Boy and getting up to some random stuff.
This entry was posted in Causes I care about, Motivation, My Interests, Northampton Saints, Personal Development, Rugby union, TV and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The diary of a wannabe

  1. Pingback: Girl on Film | destinationvlog

Leave a Reply

