Girl on Film

About a month ago I had a photo shoot in order to get some pictures to use on my portfolio, showreel, StarNow, website etc. 

The Smelly Boy suggested Frasershot and when I met with Craig, Jo and Lindsey I knew that I’d found the right people. Cheesy as it sounds, we had a chat and I felt comfortable with them. I explained what I generally wanted from the photos but I also wanted to hear their ideas of how to best get me across in the shots.

There were two parts to the shoot. A lifestyle shoot for some more natural shots and then a day in the studio. We decided on a local coffee shop in Northampton town centre by the name of Caffé D’Italia due to the fact that it’s got a gorgeous vintage feel in there. It’s almost as though, on walking through the door, you’re transported to a side street in Paris or Rome.

So I dragged my compadre Grant along for a coffee after a minimal amount of sleep (I went to the first Saints game the night before, if you don’t know what I mean, check out The Diary of a Wannabe), but not before being perfectly coiffed by the lovely Tash, thank you Turkish. Swishing my hair and feeling rather like a diva, we met the lovely Jo, the woman responsible for making me look lovely and glam.

Image

It was nice and relaxed, exactly how we wanted the shots. Although several of the more serious “looking into the distance with a sultry, mysterious gaze” shots were boycotted by Grant making me giggle, it went really well and I’m chuffed with the results. What do you think?

Getting my Diva on

Then to the day in the studio. Well, I turned up with more clothes and accessories than I realised I owned, ready to show a variety of looks, kind of a “hey look how versatile and wonderful I look- take me seriously!”. Image

In order to realise my potential to look wonderful, I employed the skills of the lovely Emma Shipley. She’d been recommended through a friend. We’d hooked up for a coffee (did I mention that I don’t tend to drink caffeine?) the day before to discuss what I was after so we were all ready and raring to go.

I’ve never been all that confident in front of cameras unless pulling a stupid picture but it shocked me ho quickly I got my diva on! I think that it helped having Emma make me look so glam and Jo bolstering my confidence reassuring me that the shots looked good.

Image

A stroke of genius saw that we pigged out on pizza at lunch time. Not your ordinary photo shoot no doubt and I’m pretty sure that it’s the cause of my bad skin but oh did it feel good at the time?!

Image

We decided to go for a bit of everything; some children’s presenter, some natural, others dramatic and a bit more made up. It was great fun and I enjoyed it more than I thought I would. I’ve been denying my inner Diva for too long so it seems!

Without getting all acceptance speech on you, I would really like to thank Jo, Emma and Lindsey who helped to make my day so memorable. I’ve now got some amazing and professional photos plus I had a ball.

I ought to show you the pictures really hadn’t I? 

Image 

Image

Image

Image

 

If you’d like to see more of the shots, please go to my StarNow (link at the top) or take a look at my facebook page. The link’s just to the right but to make it easy, click here.

Thanks

Kerry

About Kerry Leese

20 something who loves to travel from Northampton embarking on a journey of self discovery. Ambitiously working towards a career in broadcasting. In love with her Smelly Boy and getting up to some random stuff.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

