Becoming a part timer

In other news I’ve just reduced my hours at my paid job which means that I’ll now have an extra day to focus on my business. It’s odd when ‘my business’ is such an abstract notion but I mean Kerry Leese Broadcaster, Presenter and Voice Over Artist. Lets refer to it as business anyway, unless you have any suggestions?

Less hours will mean less money. As there just aren’t enough hours in the day so something had to give. I’m at a point where I have lots of ideas and plans regarding possible leads but it’s a case of finding the time to turn them into actions.

Where my job was previously a source of income to facilitate the business, it’s now getting in the way of the business. As such I’m speculating to accumulate!

For these reasons, it was an easy decision to reduce my hours although there did come a point that it became daunting; I am acting on the dream! I’m making it real, reducing the money I earn, I’m putting myself out there and as such there’s a chance of failure.

Do you know what? It’s exciting! If I could get where I want to be without taking risks, it wouldn’t be worth it so outside of the comfort zone I go.

I’ve had 3 free days (term from work, they’re far from free) so far which have proven to be very efficient. I’ve been able to get some administrative tasks done. I’ve had chance to get some great interviews and get familiar with an editing programme called Audacity. It’s brilliant going through the raw material and coming out with a polished product but boy is it time consuming!

As for this week’s free day, it’s all very exciting. I met last week Ricky, Creative Director of RJDM studios. RJDM is an animation studios and a very good one at that! I’m going to be presenting some material for their website and hopefully meeting Mimi and Manu!

I’ll keep you posted and in the mean time, have a great week!

Kerry

About Kerry Leese

20 something who loves to travel from Northampton embarking on a journey of self discovery. Ambitiously working towards a career in broadcasting. In love with her Smelly Boy and getting up to some random stuff.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

