Being Ugly- A brush with modelling!

I’m not a model nor do I profess to be. So when Smelly Boy suggested that I contact a modelling agency, I wasn’t all that convinced.

Stereotyped and ignorant as my view may be but I love food, I love to eat, my skin isn’t great and I have boobs. As such, I don’t see myself as model material. But SB went on to say that he has worked with models from an agency called Ugly and that they’re different. I was intrigued albeit potentially insulted. Ugly?!

I managed to listen long enough to hear him explain that the agency deal with ‘character models’, basically people who look like people not airbrushed mannequins. In fact, they almost sounded ethical, urging people to be happy with their bodies. Well I’m all for that.

Ugly promote the fact that they like people who have character and personality and who aren’t necessarily size zero models, the image of which I had in my head.

So I thought I’d give it a go. After all I really had enjoyed the photo shoot that I did for my portfolio shots so what was to lose? I checked out Ugly’s website and as fate would have it, they were holding an audition day, today 14th November.

So I got some short notice holiday for the day, booked myself an audition (is it immature that on calling up and receiving the greeting “Good Afternoon Ugly”, that I really had to take a second not to giggle?) and got myself some train tickets to the big smoke.

I’m all for new experiences and you never know where things will take you. As I said, I enjoyed the previous photo shoots, I’m secure enough in myself to take rejection (in case I wasn’t what Ugly were looking for) so I thought that I’d give it a go.

Have I got what it takes to be Ugly?

I’m not expecting a call let put it that way. 

When I got to the office/studio (very funkily decorated- I like!), there were people queueing out of the door, completing applications and waiting for their turn. 

I took a form and found a wall to act as clip board. When my number was called, a lovely lady (with an awesome vintage style about her) handed me a board with my number and took photos of me with a big smile and then a shocked look. 

I then waited a moment for a ‘chat’.

Now I had no idea what to expect but I’d thought about how I would get my personality across, show ‘me’ in a limited time. Unfortunately that went out of the window. 

When I stood in front of the camera in an office in front of an exec looking guy and chief booker man – cute – who I’d seen on the TV in the main office (the screen was showing a recently made documentary on the agency, ‘Britain’s Ugliest Models’), chief booker man asked me to talk about myself for 20 seconds.  

I thought it might be an initial question, so rambled on about my age, where I was from and recent jobs, explaining the new career venture with presenting/broadcasting/voice over.

Like I say, not exactly setting the world on fire. 

I thanked them for their time and off I went on my merry way. I gave it a go but I don’t expect that you’ll be finding me on the Ugly books for 2014/15

Doing the tourist bit

Image

Mr Darwin

I was in London and had given my self some some time to chill so I took a walk to ‘Little Vienna’ a cute little canal and then decided to hit the Natural History museum which, may I emphasise, is incredible. The NHM building is just breath-taking and there’s so much to see/learn experience.

Image

Being an educational establishment, it was at first very cute to see all the little people running around excited and learning on school trips but after a while the screaming of a thousand under 8s started to get a bit much.

Image

Never the less, a lovely, wonderful place and I hope to return soon to spend more time expanding my cranium! Highly recommend it.

Image

Massive Sequoia over 1500 years old!!

But now I’m home, talking to you and could probably do with some food so have a good one.

Ta ta for now,

Kerry

 

About Kerry Leese

20 something who loves to travel from Northampton embarking on a journey of self discovery. Ambitiously working towards a career in broadcasting. In love with her Smelly Boy and getting up to some random stuff.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Being Ugly- A brush with modelling!

  1. Pingback: November in a nutshell! | destinationvlog

Leave a Reply

