Taking a leap

I’m leaving my job.

It’s a decision that I’ve been toying with for the past few months and I’ve finally decided to take the leap and become fully self-employed. I’m officially creating Kerry Leese Freelance Presenter, Broadcaster, Voice Over Artist and overall wonderous woman who you want to employ.

It transpired to be an easy decision. It helps having the full support of my Smelly Boy. There aren’t nearly enough hours in the day to house a job as well as my business. And if it’s a decision between what I love and what earns a few pennies, the heart gets my vote.

I handed my notice in on Monday.

My date of departure is 24th December. That’s right Christmas Eve. Well it’s my last working day as I have some annual leave to take.

As ever I’m busy making lists of various work that I need to do and being able to devote my time to said lists will be useful. In fact, it’s quite delicious.

I have so many plans and ideas that have been left floating in my mind (in my ideas/lists book) for way too long.

In a matter of weeks of I will be fully able to execute them. Hoorah!

I’m going to need your help though.

One feature list that I have relates to this wonderful blog. It’s developing but not at the rate at which I want so I’m going to be setting myself some concrete goals and I need you to keep me accountable (in the stylee of a Mr Niall Doherty).

I’m also taking the blog on tour. I need and want to be vlogging (video blog) all the time and it looks neither interesting or professional coming live from our office/spare bedroom.

Therefore I will be finding various locations from which to speak to you. As ever, ideas are welcome. We’ll start local to begin. There are a lot of lovely places in Northampton and as the town is steeped in history, it should be great fun researching locations! I’m hoping at least the Royal and Derngate theatres and the Art Gallery and Museum.

I’m also setting up my website http://www.kerryleese.co.uk so if you’ve been brought to this page from that link, hello! Please take a look around, get to know me and let me know what you think. I am hoping to bring the full website online in the New Year but once I stop my head from spinning, I will get you a date.

The designs for the site are looking good at the moment thanks to my lovely Smelly Boy. It’s going to be crammed with my ‘schtuff’, videos, audio, showreel, pictures, news and updates on all things Kerry.

I’m really getting excited!

But as I say, I need your help. If I say I’m going to do something by a certain time and I slip, feel free to waggle the virtual finger at me disapprovingly!

Becoming an entrepreneur!

I made a great start on the business front by today attending a session on creating a business plan. It’s a daunting and wonderful task because I have to sound professional and get my plans into some coherent format. A much required task!

The training was through the Northamptonshire Enterprise Partnership and boy am I lucky to have been pointed their way. They support people looking to start their own business in Northampton and hold a variety of sessions to help you decide if becoming a business owner is for you.

The session was not only free but wonderfully informative and it gave way to a bit of networking too. I didn’t know anything about business and was a bit apprehensive but Fiona and Colin have been nothing but immensely supportive. THANK YOU!

I’ve booked for four further sessions in the New Year and although I try to avoid wishing my life away, I can barely wait!

Much excitement in my life then and that’s without even talking about Christmas! Giddy does not cover it. Although I’ve done nothing towards gifts, decorations etc.

How’s your December faring up? Please don’t tell me that you’re uber prepared!

Kerry

About Kerry Leese

20 something who loves to travel from Northampton embarking on a journey of self discovery. Ambitiously working towards a career in broadcasting. In love with her Smelly Boy and getting up to some random stuff.
This entry was posted in My Interests and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Taking a leap

  1. Pingback: I am what I am! And that can only get better… | destinationvlog

  2. Pingback: Bank holiday fun in the Hampton | destinationvlog

Leave a Reply

