Ah well, moving on swiftly

If you’ve glanced by my Facebook, Twitter, Google+, blog… well pretty much any social media of which there are a disturbing amount, you will have seen me mention a little competition, My Destination.com’s My Biggest Baddest Bucket List. You might also have noticed that I had worked my little tush off to produce a video about the gorgeous Valencia and the festival of Las Fallas accompanied by a travel log about The Smelly Boy’s and my adventure to Cuba a couple of years ago in order to enter the competition.

Time was tight on entering the competition and I was astounded when I received 407 votes in a week, each one electing for me to win 6 months travelling whilst writing and presenting to My Destination’s audience. Really, 407 votes in 7 little days. It really rocks so thank you for voting if you did. I mean it!

Two weeks have passed since the closure of the competition and today was finally the day that myself and over 1550 other entrants, found out who was on that all important list of finalists with a chance of winning. Unfortunately today I’m in the majority who didn’t get through.

Gutted.

Whilst there is many a cliché about it not happening for a reason, I don’t really care today. Today I am friendly with self-indulgence!

But I wish the finalists an amazing week in London and the winner, a positively life changing experience. I also want to thank My Destination for their lovely email which had some personal points and meant a lot. After all, 1550 x 3 minute videos and travel logs take a lot of time (no doubt some mental arithmetically enabled bod will be able to suggest how long) even without the personalised replies so thank you.

I’m also very grateful that My Destination Isle of Wight for informing me of the competition in the first place. You’ve made me realise the importance of travel to me and that it’s not something I can put off. Oh and opening me up to massive disappointment (no really, thank you!).

I’m off to eat my weight in dairy and cry until I feel better. Alternatively I might go and work my little butt into the ground to get myself and The Smelly Boy traversing the globe anyway amusing, informing and enlightening you along the way. I’ve not decided yet.

Huge thanks for your support,

Kerry

About Kerry Leese

20 something who loves to travel from Northampton embarking on a journey of self discovery. Ambitiously working towards a career in broadcasting. In love with her Smelly Boy and getting up to some random stuff.
This entry was posted in Bucket list, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Ah well, moving on swiftly

  1. Michelle says:

    I’m sorry you didn’t get through honey. I thought your video was excellent xx

    • Kerry Leese says:

      Thank you that’s really nice of you. Eloquently put, it’s a bit sucky but hey ho, whatcha gonna do?! I really appreciate the support x

  2. Karen Gardner says:

    Beautifully said.
    You really did deserve to get through even though I might be little biased!
    Onward and upward!!!
    Xxxxx

Leave a Reply

