Applying for a job? Read this first… please!

It’s always difficult when trying to get your personality and skills down in such creatively stunted way (well at least I often find) but this article will get you keep on track!

hutch PR

It’s been a busy week, not least of all because I’ve been helping sift through job applications for a position we’ve recently advertised.

In the past I’ve read blogs from HR managers and recruitment consultants, following their suggestions but felt like I was helping to justify an employer-led game. One where if I did not obey rules of length, layout and font I’d be disqualified before they even checked my cover letter had all the right buzz words, or my apostrophes were in the right place.

Recent experiences, however, have led me to fully understand the frustration of anyone advertising a position who is then swamped with less than desirable applications.

So, without prejudice, with absolute sincerity, and from someone who’s played the game and done alright so far, I offer you these five tips to sending in a job application:

Read the advertisement and job description fully

About 80% of the applications received were not…

View original post 797 more words

About Kerry Leese

20 something who loves to travel from Northampton embarking on a journey of self discovery. Ambitiously working towards a career in broadcasting. In love with her Smelly Boy and getting up to some random stuff.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

