To Podcast or not to Podcast?

I’ve been meaning to start a podcast for an age and the time has come to stop procrastinating. I’m giving myself daily tasks to do and allotting a certain amount of time to them in the hope that I get more out of my day.

One of today’s tasks… research podcasts.

Oh man, I didn’t realise that it’s so involved. I’m sure that to the technically minded, online tutorials are great but today I’ve found that I really am struggling to understand what the heck they’re talking about. And I’ve grown up with technology…

Obviously there are benefits to having another way to appeal to your audience, or a different audience altogether but not naturally being one of the podcast thousands, have you got any hints and tips you wouldn’t mind sharing?

About Kerry Leese

20 something who loves to travel from Northampton embarking on a journey of self discovery. Ambitiously working towards a career in broadcasting. In love with her Smelly Boy and getting up to some random stuff.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to To Podcast or not to Podcast?

  1. Chazz says:

    I now have two podcasts (created with Garageband but Audacity is a free option, as well.) I tried to put my podcasts up on iTunes etc.,… but I just couldn’t get over the hump of starting up the feeds, getting the details just right and get to what I really wanted to do: Get podcasting fast. Dave Jackson of SchoolofPodcasting.com really helped me out. He set up my podcasts with Libsyn and held my hand through setting up websites etc.,… cheaply and quickly. He saved me money and aggravation so I could enjoy making shows. I just finished podcast #75 of the All That Chazz podcast and recently started up the Cool People Podcast, too. It’s so much fun. Jump in and get hold of dave@schoolofpodcasting.com.

    (I should add that Dave’s become a buddy and I gladly promote him. I don’t get a kickback or anything. I’m just so enthused about all Dave has done for me and what he does for all his subscribers and listeners. He hosts several podcasts and got into podcasting early.)

  2. Chazz says:

    Hi. It’s not that I don’t recommend it. iTunes is essential, as is Stitcher and having a player on your own site. iTunes is the big dog most people still use. Basically, you want your podcast available in as many forms as possible, though don’t bother with apps for your podcast for a long while yet.

    The tough part is that I had trouble getting past the 87 little things you need to know to set things up initially. After you set up the podcast, it’s really quite easy for the ongoing stuff. To get comfortable with it, Dave records the set up session with you so you can easily repeat the sequence. After putting up a podcast or two, I didn’t need to refer to the video tutorial anymore. Left to my own devices (without Dave’s help), I probably would have quit trying out of frustration.

    Any questions, let me know.

Leave a Reply

