Bank holiday fun in the Hampton

You’ve got to love a Bank Holiday weekend when the weather is looking pretty good. Realistically Bank Holidays don’t really make that much difference to me now that I’m self-employed but the residual delight at a public holiday always lifts the spirits. We need to celebrate more often!

But what to do in the Hampton of the North?

Well fear not intrepid reader, I’ve got plenty to recommend. Sorry if you don’t live in or around Northampton. You can always do the latter…

Vintage

I was delighted when I found out about not one but two vintage events!

But wait, it gets better because they’re on separate days which means that I can go to both. It definitely beats finding out about them after the event or realising I have to chose as is the norm. Not this time hoorah!

Northampton Vintage Fair

First we have the Northampton Vintage Fair located in the lovely St Matthews Church , NN1 4RY (Kettering Road) on Saturday 4th May (tomorrow) 11am – 4pm, entry is £1. I went to the event in October and it was brilliant. Amazingly tasty and well priced home-made cake and I nabbed myself a vintage dress coat for £15. Check their Facebook event for more info.

 

Then we have our second bout of vintage joy at the newly launched Vintage Retreat on Bank Holiday Monday. I’ve not yet frequented this old school haven myself but I’ve heard good things.

Vintage Retreat Northampton Vintage Family Day

Vintage Retreat is holding a family day to celebrate all that is home-made and artsy crafty. It’s free and you’ll be able to get involved with making some lovely stuff. They’re located just off Grafton Street (near the train station), NN1 2JL. Once again, check out their Facebook event for more info.

Charity open day

I met a lovely lady, Clare, at Made In Northamptonshire t’other day and she mentioned that Northamptonshire Country Centre is hosting an Open Day tomorrow 4th May between 10am-4pm. There will be all sorts of fun for all the family. Cobblers and Saints fans will be able to meet Clarence the Dragon and Bernie, there will be games for youngsters through the day, BBQ, home-made cake (can you see that there’s a theme?) and you can even pre-order yourself a lovely veg box for £6.50. If you want any further information, you can contact Clare on 01604 582141 or clare.countrycentre@yahoo.co.uk.

Pub festival fun

Victoria Inn cider and ale festivalI love this time of year when all the cider, beer, food, music festivals get started. It doesn’t matter whether I’m drinking or not, I just love them. Thus I was delighted when I walked past the gorgeous Victoria Inn the other day. What did my eyes behold but a plain white sign advising that the VI would be home to a selection of ales, ciders, meats and cheeses plus live music over the Bank Holiday weekend? I can’t tell you my excitement! It’s started already so get thee to NN1 3EX.

Sporting action

Now you may know that I’m a big Northampton Saints fan so I can’t finish without mentioning that Saints are away to Harlequins tomorrow kick off 2:30pm from Twickenham Stoop (ESPN coverage). Both teams are through to the play offs but Harlequins are only one point ahead. In all fairness we haven’t seen our best performances against the biggies like Leicester Tigers and Harlequins so we need a well played win, ideally please lads! So if you get chance check them out.

Have an awesome weekend wherever you are. If you go to any of the aforementioned, I’d love to know what you thought or I might even see you there!

Kerry

About Kerry Leese

20 something who loves to travel from Northampton embarking on a journey of self discovery. Ambitiously working towards a career in broadcasting. In love with her Smelly Boy and getting up to some random stuff.
This entry was posted in Food & Drink, Northampton Saints, Rugby union, Things to do, Vintage and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bank holiday fun in the Hampton

  1. Bizkit says:

    Yesterday, while I was at work, my cousin stole my iPad and tested to see if it can survive a forty foot drop, just so she can be
    a youtube sensation. My apple ipad is now
    destroyed and she has 83 views. I know this is entirely off topic but I had to share it with someone!

    • Kerry Leese says:

      You’re joking? That’s pretty unbelievable and definitely sucks! She’s got to get enough money from it to get you a new iPad. Hope you have a better day today!

Leave a Reply

