Science Club and Tele Talk

Being involved in media, I often find myself in London. Over the past month I’ve had two exciting reasons to be in the capital so I thought I’d give you the scoop.

Through the delights of Twitter, I saw that Dara O Briain’s Science Club (BBC2) was up and running for another season. The show needed an audience.

Kerry Leese Dara O Briain Science ClubI love the show and I’m bit of a closet geek so learning about science and getting to be the big man sounded like the perfect evening. Plus there’s the professional interest in broadcast, who doesn’t want to pick up a few tips from the beeb?

Arriving at the studio (that looked nothing like a studio and more like a mechanics), I did have a clue but dutifully joined the queue with my eager audience compadres. I was soon heading into the ‘studio’, greeted by the lovely BBC production team and a fine selection of beverages. We were tagged with a nice illuminous wrist band and offered a badge (love them) before walking over a what looked like a long tred-mill made of smaller panels which lit up when we walked over it. Keep an eye out for the new series to find out what it was!

Dara O Briain's Science Club

This is a pic of the loo but it’s very glam!

Everyone was clearly buzzing with anticipation for what was to come. Nothing to do with the free booze. The studio had a great vibe and many of us could be seen pulling out necks to get a closer look at the experiments next door.

We were filed into the filming area and introduced to Dara who I believe may be one of the fastest speaking people in the world. After reassuring us that he’d be speaking more slowly during filming, he explained what we’d be seeing during the evening. It was all fun! I was enthralled from the beginning.

As the show’s not been aired yet I won’t go into too much detail but I’ve got some pictures of what happened after filming had stopped. For us loyal & dedicated geeks, we were rewarded with extra geeky fun.

Cool science club

Cool science club stuff

A few weeks later I was back to the smoke for a TV networking evening, Tele Talk London. For anyone who wants to know more about the industry or make new contacts, it’s a must! It’s headed by the lovely Grace Owen who proved she’s got more than just a hat rack when she organised the events in aid of the charity Mind. In order to get more exposure as a presenter, Grace created the events where she interviews industry legends for the information and amusement of people like me!

Tele Talk London

The evenings have such a friendly vibe to them and provide a lovely opportunity to mingle with like minded people. I was so happy when my first Tele Talk completely dispelled any fears I had about TV people being mean and competitive. Everyone I met was genuine and lovely.

Some of the people talking have been the lovely Simon Wright, BBC talent exec, Ash Greenwood, reality TV researcher extraordinaire, Jenny Popplewell, the tour de force producer/director behind My Big Fat Gypsy Wedding and Jonathan Stadlen, exec producer behind Pineapple Dance Studios (yes we have him to thank you the energy explosion that is Louie Spence) to name but a few!

Unfortunately I didn’t get any pictures as I was too engrossed (what’s a girl to do) but make sure you keep your eyes peeled for the next wonderful event!

Kerry

About Kerry Leese

20 something who loves to travel from Northampton embarking on a journey of self discovery. Ambitiously working towards a career in broadcasting. In love with her Smelly Boy and getting up to some random stuff.
This entry was posted in My Interests, TV and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Science Club and Tele Talk

  1. Karen Gardner says:

    An enjoyable and interesting piece.

Leave a Reply

