I saved someone’s life

In my former professional life, I worked with victims of domestic abuse. I make no secret of the fact that the work became too much for me and made me quite poorly for a time.

Angel of Freedom. A gift from a former client.

Angel of Freedom. A gift from a former client.

I was with the service for two years which means that I worked with a lot of people who were going through awful times.

I’m bringing this all up because I was just contacted by a former colleague. They mentioned that, through social media, a client had commented about their experience of the service several years ago. That person was a former client of mine.

I’m not sure why I am writing this post but I suppose I’m quite proud of myself and the following words have really touched me.

…most of the ladies and men that need their help and referred through the police to them with your consent. They were amazing when i needed them at coping with the stigma that is still there for incidents involving Domestic abuse. I can’t thank the police enough for their part in encourging me to go. Kerry was amazing and proably saved my sanity after putting up with it so long and the children witnessing it all. It.s a few years now since i needed them and they were professional , suportive and ensured all safety things that could be fitted were. They sorted it all out for me and sent my Ex partner various letters warning of Ab and C and what would happen if he broke them which saved me trying to pay for harassement order etc . The police and the Sun flower centre are great in dealing with this so please anyone don’t suffer in silence get support and help it is there and the way they help change your life around from how you had been living is amazing. Thank you Northampton police and all the staff at The Sunflower Centre as you truelly saved my life as i was ready to throw in the towel and the Children are now young adults and i have happy life with a lovely new partber. So everyone who is suffering take the help they offer and get yyour life back x

Their message holds a really important message for anyone experiencing abuse, no matter what type. I hope you can see it.

We can have a huge impact on someone’s life without ever realising. Have you ever been told the positive impact you had on someone? Has someone had a positive impact on you? Did you tell them? Because honestly, it means a lot to be on the receiving end! Maybe you should tell them.

I’m really happy that the children mentioned still have a parent. That person is now hopefully happy and safe. I feel very good about myself that I had a small part to play in that.

Kerry

About Kerry Leese

20 something who loves to travel from Northampton embarking on a journey of self discovery. Ambitiously working towards a career in broadcasting. In love with her Smelly Boy and getting up to some random stuff.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

