Myanmar

Considering that I’ve recently fulfilled several things on my bucket list, I’ve been ridiculously quiet on my blog. So much fun stuff has been happening but I’ve struggled to find the time to keep you up to date.

So to make amends I’m going to post once a day for the rest of December to keep you posted about what I’m up to… It’s quite a feat but I’m hoping that it’s just a case of creating the habit! The post may just be a video clip or a picture which should be fun for a caption competition!

I’ll start off by giving you some shots of a trip that the Smelly Boy and I recently made. To say a trip of a lifetime would be about right. As I’ve told you many a time, I love travel and want to travel much more in the future. Now isn’t the time to do a huge long trip but one place has been in the forefront of my mind, niggling away at me for a long time. Myanmar.

I first became really interested in 2008 when I heard about the struggle of Aung San Suu Kyi, daughter of the national hero General Aung San and now leader of the opposition, National League for Democracy (NLD). She seemed like a very strong, interesting character and I wanted to know more about what was going on in Myanmar, a country subject to a military led government.

I was hooked. The country seemed to have a mysterious appeal, I couldn’t put my finger on it but I just felt that I needed to go. But one thing and another got in the way. Quite a few years have passed and I’d still not ticked that trip off my to do list.

Then over the summer, the Smelly Boy and I gave in. We’ve both wanted to go travelling for so long but with things starting to move with work and us not having enough money to just up sticks for a year (wouldn’t it be nice?), it’s just not the right time. So we made a compromise with our situation. Two weeks in Myanmar. I would film and add to my showreel and we’d soak up some life!

I don’t have time quite yet to do justice to our time there but here are some of the things we experienced.

See you tomorrow!

Sunrise in Bagan

Sunrise in Bagan

Top of Mandalay Hill with new friends

Top of Mandalay Hill (1789 steps!) with new friend

 

A bicycle is a dangerous method of transport in Bagan with so much sand!

Born to be wild baby! The one and only day we cycled in Bagan. Sand = danger. Heat = unbearable!

Myanmar

Discovering huge hidden Buddhas.

Water taxi

Water taxi-ing on Inle Lake both day and night (a story in itself)

Meeting women of the Padaung who you’ll see with rings around their neck and knees.

Jumping Cat Monastery on Inle Lake, although they were nowhere to be seen

Jumping Cat Monastery on Inle Lake, although said jumping cats were nowhere to be seen

Myanmar monks

The boys are back in town. Young monks in Nyaung Shwe, Inle Lake.

About Kerry Leese

20 something who loves to travel from Northampton embarking on a journey of self discovery. Ambitiously working towards a career in broadcasting. In love with her Smelly Boy and getting up to some random stuff.
This entry was posted in Bucket list, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Myanmar

  1. Sounds like a good compromise… Can’t wait to hear all about your trip.

Leave a Reply

