Where do you get your inspir… SQUIRRAL?!

I’m going to be honest. I’m having one of those days where my head feels like it’s stuffed with cotton wool. I know that I should probably be telling you how well self-employment is going, after all gotta live the brand and all.

I know that need to be productive but I also know that there’s no point forcing myself when I’m like this; I don’t get anything done and I get so easily distracted.

To prove the point, please find a great clip from the brilliant ‘UP!’. You only need watch up to 1:41 to get the point but it is a great film so why not indulge in the full three minutes? Go on treat yourself!

It’s official. Today, I have the attention span of <SQUIRREL>… Excuse me,  the attention span of a dog.

So why am I posting, other than the fact that it provides a great excuse for procrastination? Well I came across a video a few weeks ago when I was in a similar head space, trying to progress with my business plan (and guess what I’m trying to do today..?).

It’s a video of Steve Jobs talking about marketing. As it’s 29 years since the first Apple Mackintosh went on sale, I thought that I might share it. See what you think.

I liked the way that he doesn’t just talk about sales. But isn’t that what marketing’s all about? Perhaps, I’m definitely no expert. But I think that it’s taking a more holistic approach in business.

Talk about your core values and your passion without trying to sell and I personally think that you stand in a better position of creating a strong working relationship with your clients. Or at least I hope that’s the way it works.

I like the advert that is shown at the end of the clip and I absolutely love the theme of ‘Think Different”. The grammar geek in me won’t hover over that statement for too long (differently for goodness’ sake, it’s Think Differently) but the talk from Jobs including the Apple advert, give me hope and inspiration for when I’m feeling this way.

Image

Me today!

I having an off day but I know that it’s not a permanent issue. I need to draw strength from knowing that I’m one of those people. I think differently and I know that I can change the world. I may not be Gandhi or Einstein, well not yet at least. I’m Kerry Leese and I’ll do it in my own special way.

I’m the woman who’s determined to get on Strictly Come Dancing but who can only master the running man. I’m the person who has given herself the goal of working on the 2015 Rugby World Cup in England which means that I have two years to get experience presenting live TV to millions, not forgetting the recruitment process.

Slightly deluded yes. Determined most definitely and I will get there, by hook or by crook!

It’s bits of inspiration like that video that help me to realise that I can do anything I put my mind to. Fair enough, I might not be able to fly unaided, and no, I’ll probably never find the real Faraway Tree but I am prepared to work blinking hard and I can be stubborn when I decide I’m going to do something.

What about you? What gets your inspirational juices flowing? Hook a sister up with some motivational advice, please!

About Kerry Leese

20 something who loves to travel from Northampton embarking on a journey of self discovery. Ambitiously working towards a career in broadcasting. In love with her Smelly Boy and getting up to some random stuff.
This entry was posted in Creativity, Film, Inspiration, Motivation, Personal Development and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Where do you get your inspir… SQUIRRAL?!

  1. lexiesnana says:

    We have all had the creeping crud over here too.Hope you are feeling better.

Leave a comment